Both proven prize winners and relatively new faces appear on the list of LA Times Book Award finalists for 2010, which were announced on Tuesday.

Books were nominated in 10 categories: Biography, current interest, fiction, first fiction (the Art Seidenbaum Award), graphic novel, history, mystery-thriller, poetry, science and technology, and young adult literature.

In fiction, old hands Jonathan Franzen, Richard Bausch and Rick Bass will be battling it out against Jennifer Egan (A Visit from the Goon Squad) and Frederick Reiken (Day for Night). We were also excited to see BookPage favorites Tana French and Tom Franklin up for the mystery-thriller award (alongside Laura Lippman, Stuart Neville and Kelli Stanley).

Of course, Laura Hillenbrand made it to the nonfiction category with her best-selling (and riveting) Unbroken, as did Edmund Morris with Colonel Roosevelt. Somewhat surprisingly, Patti Smith's Just Kids is included in the current interest category along with books like War and The Big Short.

For a full list of the nominees in all categories, click here.

comments powered by Disqus