Readers worldwide fell in love with Australian novelist Graeme Simsion's debut, The Rosie Project, when it was published last fall. A sparkling romantic comedy, the book charted the love affair between a rule-following genetics professor and an unconventional young woman.

Those looking for a similarly heartwarming and hilarious book, read on!


The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time by Mark Haddon

Though Simsion never states it explicitly, it seems obvious that Don is somewhere on the autism spectrum. Those who enjoyed the resulting narrative voice should pick up The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time, which is told from the point of view of a 15-year-old boy, Christopher, who is an autistic savant and a math genius. His story of solving the murder of his neighbor's dog, Wellington, tickles both the funny bone and the heart.


Delicacy by David Foenkinos

If the "opposites attract" trope was the thrill for you, don't miss Delicacy. This French bestseller, which became a movie starring Audrey Tatou, follows a beautiful young widow's unconventional path to love with her oddball coworker, Markus. 


The Hypnotist's Love Story by Liane Moriarty

A scientific-minded soul also stars in Moriarty's 2012 release—but this time, it's a woman. A hypnotherapist, Ellen is 35 and tired of dead-end relationships. When she meets Patrick, everything feels right, until she learns that his ex, Saskia, is stalking him. But even that doesn't put Ellen off; as someone who works in the darker corners of people's minds, she becomes fascinated by Saskia. Little does she know that Saskia is already including Ellen in her surveilance.

 


What in God's Name by Simon Rich

So you say that Simsion's healthy dose of humor floated your boat: How about trying SNL writer Simon Rich's What in God's Name? This good-natured satire follows an angel tasked with getting two fumbling 20-somethings together, and finding the road to happiness much rockier than he anticipated.


How to Tell Toledo from the Night Sky by Lydia Netzer

Science and romance also collide in Netzer's quirky second novel. George and Irene are soul mates—their parents ensured it by having them be born at the same time and place. But they're also, as our reviewer succinctly describes it, "weirdos." But can astrophysicist Irene, who doesn't really believe in love, ever really fit in with diehard romantic George? Readers will have fun finding out.


Landline by Rainbow Rowell

A quirky cast and a high-concept plot also power the second adult novel from YA writer Rowell. TV writer Georgie has made a decision that just might be the end of her troubled marriage—and then she discovers a way to get through to the man she married. The actual man she married, that is: The phone dials through time nearly 20 years to let Georgie talk to the college-aged Neal she fell in love with. Will this be a way back to happiness for Georgie? Or will it end her relationship once and for all?

 

 

What books would you recommend to a Rosie Project fan? Tell us in the comments!

RELATED ON BOOKPAGE: Read our previous "Read it Next" posts, and get the scoop on Simsion's next novel—which will feature Rosie and Don.

comments powered by Disqus