Hanna Rosin is one of my favorite contributors to Slate and The Atlantic (her piece titled "The Case Against Breast-Feeding" made waves). She's also an author; her book God's Harvard: A Christian College on a Mission to Save America was published by Houghton Mifflin Harcourt in 2007.

This month, she has a story in The Atlantic about the unprecedented role reversal of genders taking place in the United States—women are earning larger percentages of their family income, gaining more college degrees and are better positioned for success in fields that will grow in the coming years. Rosin will now turn the article into a book.

To be published by Riverhead in spring 2012, the book will examine "the upended state of gender roles and relations that seems to be putting women on top and leaving men in the dust—in education, work, money, health, home—and in the process radically reshaping cultural and political dynamics."

Like the article in The Atlantic, Rosin's book will be titled The End of Men. According to Publisher's Marketplace, it's "in the tradition of The Feminine Mystique, Backlash, The Beauty Myth and The Second Shift.

Does this sound like something you'd like to read? I enjoyed Gail Collins' 2009 book When Everything Changed: The Amazing Journey of American Women from 1960 to the Present [read my interview with Collins about the book here], and it seems that Rosin's book might be an appropriate follow-up. Or, if Rosin's article makes you worry about your sons, Richard Whitmire's new book Why Boys Fail might be of interest!

In other news, if you read this blog you know BookPage editors have been reading, discussing and recommending Adam Ross's Mr. Peanut. Rosin recently posted a note from Adam Ross on Slate blog XXFactor; he is responding to Rosin's comment that Mr. Peanut is about "men who obsessively fantasize about killing their wives as their only form of escape." The letter is worth a read, and I look forward to Slate's DoubleX book club podcast of the novel (coming this month).

comments powered by Disqus