John Green's affecting The Fault in Our Stars has received almost non-stop attention since in publication in January of 2012—and even way before. It was a bestseller on Amazon and Barnes & Noble six months before publication, and its popularity has yet to lose momentum. It was a BookPage Best Children's Book of 2012, #5 on the Readers' Choice list of the Best Books of 2012 and called "damn near genius" by Time magazine.

Green's fourth book stars a 16-year-old girl named Hazel with stage-4 thyroid cancer and depression. At a support group, she meets a boy named Augustus, who has lost a leg to osteosarcoma. And so their love story begins as they explore the possibility of a relationship amid the unlucky world of the sick and dying. They dare to be witty, clever and courageous in the face of what could be insurmountable grief.

Loved The Fault in Our Stars? Check out these suggestions for what to read next.

The Age of Miracles by Karen Thompson Walker
The sharp edge of The Fault in Our Stars comes from how tragically young Hazel and Augustus are, and the notion of facing death in adolescence. In Walker's debut, 11-year-old Julia's coming-of-age coincides with the cusp of catastrophe, as she bears witness to the terrifying deceleration of the Earth. What kind of "growing up" is there at the end of the world?

Thirteen Reasons Why by Jay Asher
The YA genre often gets slammed for featuring topics that are deemed too raw and too real for young readers. But teen novels are at their best when sensitively exploring tough issues, such as in Thirteen Reasons Why, the unflinching story of a teen girl's suicide and the seven cassette tapes she leaves behind to explain her actions. The listener is a boy named Clay, who had a crush on Hannah, and whose odyssey through the tapes reveals bitter truths about ourselves and our actions' unintended consequences. Not an easy read, but undeniably powerful.

Gold by Chris Cleave
Gold received lots of attention when it came out last July—it was the much anticipated new novel from the author of Little Bee, and it was also the book to coincide with the 2012 Summer Olympics. And while the competition between friends and Olympic cyclists Kate and Zoe is fierce, the strand that binds them is Kate's 9-year-old daughter Sophie, who goes to great lengths to hide the toll that leukemia is taking on her little body. Gold is as much about cycling and competition as it is about the sacrifices made for family.

The Story of Beautiful Girl by Rachel Simon
The "impossible love" story is a song older than Romeo & Juliet, and there are millions of great ones to choose from. In this novel, a white woman and an African-American man are not only in love in 1968, but they both suffer from disabilities: Lynnie has developmental disabilities that leave her with limited speech, and Homan is deaf and mute. Lynnie is also pregnant with Homan's child, and together, they escape from the deplorable conditions of the Pennsylvania State School of the Incurable and Feebleminded. When Lynnie is caught, Homan flees, and an epic, emotional tale of longing and hope continues for the next 30 years.

The Illumination by Kevin Brockmeier
Brockmeier's look at human suffering has a magical realism twist: One Friday night, every person's wounds begin to shine, emitting a strange, shimmering light. Six novella-length chapters starring six strangers, linked by a private journal of love notes written by a husband to his wife, explore the phenomenon. The result is a novel of immense beauty, as Brockmeier slowly reveals the quiet intimacies of a happy marriage, as well as the bonds and shared pain between the six strangers.

Every Day by David Levithan
Young love is love at its fiercest and blindest, and the story of A, the genderless teen consciousness who inhabits a different teenager's body every day, and the girl A falls for, is one of the most unique young loves I've ever read. Can a love between a bodiless soul and a real human possibly work? The reader will dare to hope.

Readers: What books would you recommend for fans of The Fault in Our Stars?

ALSO ON THE BOOK CASE
What to read after Gone Girl.
What to read after Defending Jacob.

comments powered by Disqus