firstficV4finalAugust is First Fiction Month on BookPage.com! Click here for complete coverage.

Use your past favorites to discover your favorite new voice! Here are 10 notable first novels paired with their 2013 read-alikes. Agree? Disagree? Duke it out with me in the comments.

crazyrichasiansthe devil wears prada
If you liked The Devil Wears Prada, you'll love
. . . Crazy Rich Asians by Kevin Kwan

Like Prada, Kwan's debut features a likable heroine thrust into a world beyond her ken. Only instead of the fashion elite, Rachel is brought into the secretive kingdom of the offshore Chinese, a community with wealth and privilege beyond her wildest imaginings.


enchantedlifehopetimetravelerIf you liked The Time Traveler's Wife, you'll love
. . . The Enchanted Life of Adam Hope by Rhonda Riley

Like Audrey Niffenegger's 2003 bestseller, Rhonda Riley's debut tells the story of an ordinary woman in love with someone who's . . . not so ordinary. Along the way, it explores questions about the nature of love and identity.


rathbonesSwamplandia! by Karen RusselIf you liked Swamplandia!, you'll love . . . The Rathbones by Janice Clark

If you like quirks, literary chops and a touch of magic in your fiction, The Rathbones is the 2013 debut for you. It stars a spunky teenage heroine who sets out on a search for a missing relative—and encompasses 100 years of Rathbone family history in the process.


constellationofvitaltigerswifeIf you liked The Tiger's Wife, you'll love . . .
A Constellation of Vital Phenomena by Anthony Marra

Marra's accomplished debut is set in war-torn Chechnya, and, like Obreht's, manages to tell a compelling story while exploring the effects of a brutal civil war. Insightful and enlightening, this is the sort of novel that helps you see the world differently.


doublefeatureIf you liked artoffieldThe Art of Fielding, you'll love . . . Double Feature by Owen King

Like Fielding, Double Feature manages to tackle the tricky topic of young man coming of age without self-indulgence or pretension—although King's hero Sam Dolan must prove himself in Hollywood rather than on the baseball field. Both novels surround a dynamic male lead with an equally true-to-life, crowd-pleasing cast of characters, and ably walk the line between tragedy and comedy.


southerncrossthedog coldmountain If you liked Cold Mountain, you'll love . . . Southern Cross the Dog by Bill Cheng.

Though set in different eras, these two debuts both masterfully evoke the Southern landscape and culture and feature down-and-out protagonists who could use a little bit of luck—not to mention poetic, spare prose.


tampalovelybonesIf you liked The Lovely Bones, you'll love . . . Tampa by Alissa Nutting

Alice Sebold's first novel broke the rules by killing her narrator in the opening pages. Nutting's debut is possibly even more transgressive: Its narrator is an unrepentant, beautiful and cold young woman who preys on her teen students. But a bold premise is nothing without an equally strong and original voice—and both of these books have it.


lettersskyeguernseyIf you liked The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society, you'll love . . . Letters from Skye by Jessica Brockmole

A story told in letters, set mostly on a small, isolated island during a world war—this summary could describe either of these charming novels. Although each has its own distinct voice, both handily evoke their eras and will please fans of love stories and small-town tales.


executionofnoaplightbetweenoceansppbkIf you liked The Light Between Oceans, you'll love
. . . The Execution of Noa P. Singleton by Elizabeth L. Silver

Though the settings of these two novels could not be more different—an isolated island off the coast of Australia vs. a modern American prison—the moral questions raised by each will have a similar resonance in readers' minds.


The Andalucian FriendMay102010450pmgirl_dragon_tattooIf you liked The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo, you'll love . . . The Andalucian Friend by Alexander Söderberg

With a settings ranging from Sweden to Spain's stunning Costa del Sol, this fast-paced crime thriller is hard-boiled enough to satisfy fans of Stieg Larsson's Millenium trilogy.

comments powered by Disqus